Taming the Shrew — A Tale of a Brat’s First Discipline Session

Lenore T. Rose
27 min readJul 28, 2023
Photo by Kato Blackmore 🇺🇦 on Unsplash

I.

The rain poured into the streets, and the water ran down the sidewalk’s edge. I held my warm cup of coffee close like it was the only heat left. I stood, stared, listened to the sounds of water hitting the pavement, and watched the individual drops as they hit the window. There was silence, and the silence pushed me over the precipice.

After the argument two weeks ago, Brian had walked away. I expected this to pass in a day or two, but here I am, staring out the window and finally realizing that he meant it. It was over. I liked him and wondered if he was “the one.” Still, there was no “one” for me.

I had been mesmerized by his silence. It was the kind of silence that said, “Ask me anything.”. Brian’s eyes told me his mind was complicated, working overtime, even if watching tv or staring out at the trees. His smile made my heart leap out of my chest like a giddy schoolgirl who was given her first Valentine. His was bright on the outside and very dark on the inside. Brian introduced me to BDSM play and taught me about the interplay of pain and pleasure during sex.

The idea of letting go was a new concept for me. I learned very young that you don’t get anything if you don’t go after it. It taught me to push to do more than one human should. I hid my feelings…

--

--

Lenore T. Rose

Creative spirit. Overworked human. Idea developer. Poet. Artist. Animal rescuer.