How Political Ideology Has Impacted My Dating Life

Lenore T. Rose
5 min readMay 2, 2022
Photo by Haley Lawrence on Unsplash

I know. How shallow of me. To give a damn about what a guy thinks. So let’s get shaggy, a little nasty, and chill, right? Well, wrong.

I’ve realized that I’m not the only one who feels this way.

I’ve written recently about how it’s been going dating in the lifestyle over age 50. True, I do fall on the kink side of things. However, I believe this issue expands across sexual preferences. Whether your partner is on the same page with you when it comes to social norms actually matters. It doesn’t matter if you are gay, straight, kinky or not.

A dear friend of mine, let’s be honest with each other. He is “struggling to convert to a better path — man-whore.” Well, he was a complete and total man slut. But, in the last year and a half, I’ve watched him come to appreciate that relationships with depth offer more than meaningless sex. Of course, some folks are slow to learn, but he was coming along.

Let’s call him “Bob.” Bob was working hard to find someone he thought he could start working on a long-term committed relationship with and was not having much luck. Frustrated, he did what many do and turned to what was available.

After an hour or so of sweaty, dirty fucking, he lay back in the hotel bed smoking a cigarette. Then, closing his eyes and listening to his…

--

--

Lenore T. Rose

Creative spirit. Overworked human. Idea developer. Poet. Artist. Animal rescuer.